Clever Cloggs Day Nursery

Cundy Community Centre, Hartington, Custom House, London E16 3NP

Owner: Jennifer Lewis

Person in charge: Jennifer Lewis (Director)

Local Authority / Social Services: London Borough of Newham Council

Service Offered: Day Nursery (Privately Owned), Full Day Care

Total Places for Children: 47

Age Range: from 0 years to 5 years

Opening Days: Mon-Fri

Opening Hours: 0800-1800

Vacancies

Please Contact Us for Latest Vacancies

Reviews

3 Clever Cloggs Day Nursery has a Review Score of 3 (3.000)

The Review Score of 3 (maximum of 10) for Clever Cloggs Day Nursery is based on a) the Average Rating and b) the number of positive Reviews.

  • a) The Average Rating is 3 out of 5 from 1 Reviews over all time. This Average Rating is also the rating value for Clever Cloggs Day Nursery in Google's Search Results - more info

  • b) The score for the number of positive Reviews is 0 out of 5 from 0 positive Reviews in the last 12 months.

  • a) 5 Points are available for the Average Rating of all Reviews over all time. For each review the Day Nursery / service is rated Excellent, Good, Satisfactory, Poor or Very Poor on a number of areas eg Staff, Management etc. The Day Nursery receives points for each rating as follows: Excellent = 5. Good = 4. Satisfactory = 3. Poor = 2. Very Poor = 1. These points are added up and then divided by the total number of completed ratings to generate the average rating.

    The Average Rating of 3 for Clever Cloggs Day Nursery is calculated as follows: ( (2 Excellents x 5) + (1 Goods x 4) + (4 Satisfactorys x 3) + (5 Poors x 2) ) ÷ 12 Ratings = 3

  • b) 5 Points are available for the number of Positive Reviews in the last 12 months. If there are no Positive Reviews in the last 12 months, then 2.5 points are available for the number of Positive Reviews in the last 2 years. A Positive Review is defined as any Review with 'Extremely Likely' or 'Likely' in answer to the question 'How likely are you to recommend this Day Nursery to friends and family?'

    The 5 points available are broken down as follows:

    1. 4 points are available for the first 5 Positive Reviews, 3 points for the first Positive Review and then 0.25 Points for each of the next 4 Positive Reviews.

    2. 1 point is available for reaching a target number of Positive Reviews based on 20% of the number of registered maximum number of service users. If the target is partially reached then that proportion of 1 point is given. eg a Day Nursery with 50 registered maximum number of service users has a target of 10 Positive Reviews, if it has 10 or more Positive Reviews it will receive 1 point, if it has 7 reviews will receive 0.7 points.

    3. If there are no Positive Reviews in the last 12 months, then 2.5 points are available for the number of Positive Reviews in the last 2 years. The calculation is the same as above, except the points are divided by 2.

    The 0 Points relating to the number of positive Reviews for Clever Cloggs Day Nursery is based on 0 positive Reviews in the last 24 months and is calculated as follows:

    1. 0 = 0

    2. Target of 9.4 positive Reviews (47 registered maximum number of service users ÷ 5). 0 Reviews ÷ 9.4 Target = 0

  • When a Review is submitted by someone who has previously submitted a Review, only the latest Review will count towards the Review Score.


Average Ratings

  • Excellent
    0
  • Good
    0
  • Satisfactory
    1
  • Poor
    0
  • Very Poor
    0
  • Don't Know
    0

How Likely are the Reviewers to Recommend Clever Cloggs Day Nursery?

  • Extremely LIKELY
    0
  • Likely
    0
  • Don't know
    0
  • Neither Unlikely or Likely
    0
  • Unlikely
    0
  • Extremely UNLIKELY
    1

Reviewer Connection to Clever Cloggs Day Nursery

  • Mother of Child
    1

I would not recommend this nursery to working parents. It is extremely inflexible with regards to their policies and I feel it is run as a formal business rather than a care provider for under 5s.

Most of the staff are very negative and every afternoon when they answer the door they look fed up and give you a list of negative behaviours about your child.

After half a term I have removed my child from this nursery for a variety of reasons:
-punishing my child with food (not allowing her to have a Birthday cake because she was struggling with dinner)
-short notice (one night before) to remind parents about nappies/wipes. And then happy to turn you away the next morning if you forget- surely there should be some reserves in place?

After my son being in a loving full-time nursery for 5 years, it was clear how different this nursery was and I had to remove my child to give her the opportunity to get the same care he had.

How likely would you be to recommend Clever Cloggs Day Nursery? Extremely Unlikely

Average Rating: 

 3 out of 5

Overall Standard: Satisfactory

Facilities / Outside Space: Good

Learning: Poor

Resources / Equipment / ICT: Satisfactory

Care: Poor

Activities: Satisfactory

Staff: Poor

Food / Nutrition: Poor

Management: Poor

Cleanliness: Excellent

Safeguarding: Excellent

Value for Money: Satisfactory

Jennifer Lewis, Director at Clever Cloggs Day Nursery responded to this review on 23 Nov 2016:

At Clever Cloggs Day Nursery we offer full time and part time places to meet the varied needs of parents. We also offer term time only childcare to meet the needs of teachers and teaching assistants. We are flexible by allowing parents such as yourself have their children return early or do additional days, for example during the school holidays so that we can support their work commitments. We operate an open-door policy for all parents and invited you into the nursery to discuss any concerns, which you declined.
We work closely with the local Children’s Centre to support parents who have concerns about their children’s eating. Monitoring sheets are also available each day to record what a child under the age of 2 years old eats each day. We also provide feedback to all parents each day (for example, if a child has not eaten well), which is especially important when we have concerns about a child’s eating.
In relation to the nursery not having a flexible attitude around meeting the needs of the children (providing nappies and wipes) the nursery does not use the wipes and nappies of other children as some of the children may be allergic to some brands which could cause skin irritation or other issues. We only use the nappies and wipes provided by the parent that they feel are suitable for their child. This is to ensure the well – being of the children and is part of our safeguarding and working in partnership with parent’s policy to ensure parent’s wishes are considered and the needs of individual children are met. We request all items in advance and have never asked you to bring in items for your child the next day. Parents are given ample time to purchase items needed for nursery and bring them in. If in this case you are referring to another parent/child then you would not be aware of the whole conversation or situation. This is not something the nursery would be discussing with you so I am not sure why you are making this point.
In relation to your child not having cake one afternoon at tea time, this was because she had refused to eat. The staff had tried on several occasions to encourage her to eat. The nursery even supported your child with cutlery utensils that you brought from home. We would never withhold food as a form of punishment as you implied. We always told you how your child ate each day at nursery (in conversations and on the daily monitoring sheets) so you were able to provide her with an appropriate evening meal. We had spoken on many occasions about your child’s eating but you were too busy to attend any sessions at the Children’s Centre as advised because you were a working parent. Therefore, as part of working together, I arranged for the Children’s Centre Team from Edith Kerrison to come into the nursery for a workshop at a time which suited you and enabled you to attend, which you did.
As a nursery, we have supported many of our parents and have an established working relationship with the Children’s Centre at Edith Kerrison and Keir Hardy primary school. We have at Clever Cloggs been very successful with many parents working in partnership and we have had nothing but positive praise. We have signposted parents to the Triple P Program on positive parenting, fussy eaters, toileting, transition into school, speech and language and parents whose children have additional needs, all with positive feedback and outcomes which have impacted on the learning and development of the children in our care. Through our support and encouragement, parents have informed us that their children have thrived and our support has been invaluable in preparing their children for school. We have worked closely with our Early Years Advisory Teachers who have visited us with practitioners from other settings so that they can benefit from our good practice and the environment that we provide for the children.
It is unfortunate that you have not found your experience at Clever Cloggs Day Nursery to be a positive one and we hope your child will be very happy in her new setting.

Submit a Review for Clever Cloggs Day Nursery

    • We welcome parents/individuals responsible for a child to submit reviews to daynurseries.co.uk

    • This is not a formal complaint procedure or to be used for allegations of negligence, abuse or criminal activity. If you wish to make a complaint or have a serious allegation of negligence, please refer to the procedures on our complaints page.

Your Personal Details

Your personal details below may be used by us or passed on to the organisation you are reviewing in order to contact you for the purpose of verifying/responding to your review. They will not be passed on to any other third parties and will not be published on our website. Please enter your own personal email address (the email of the care provider will not be accepted). Reviews cannot be submitted anonymously.

Your Review & Rating

This information will be published on the website.


(Please edit if you wish, but it is now our policy not to publish the surname of the reviewer)

(Please note we only accept reviews from the connections displayed in the drop down. We do NOT accept reviews from staff or people with a professional connection with the nursery)

Extremely UNLIKELY

Unlikely

Neither Unlikely or Likely

Likely

Extremely LIKELY

Don't know

Please avoid using names and enter a minimum of 100 and maximum of 1,000 characters - Currently 0 characters.
Reviews must comply with our Review Policy Content Standards (eg are relevant, informative, civil and do not contain allegations of abuse, negligence or criminal activity).

Please complete each of the following options

I certify this is my genuine opinion and in submitting it I agree to the terms and conditions on daynurseries.co.uk/terms.
Please note we have zero tolerance for fraudulent reviews, for more info please refer to the Fraudulent Reviews section in our Review Policy

Awards / Recognitions

There are currently no awards/recognitions posted yet for Clever Cloggs Day Nursery

Job Vacancies

Staff Profiles

There are no staff profiles posted yet